2017 South Carolina Gamecock Schedule

SouthCarolinaSoftball
Gamecock Softball Faces Daunting 2017 Schedule

SC has nearly 60 percent of its games against NCAA Tourney teams, 57 percent at home

COLUMBIA, S.C. – South Carolina Head Softball Coach Beverly Smith has put together the toughest test yet for her Gamecocks in 2017, as her 56-game schedule is released now.

The Gamecocks are slated to have 33 games against teams that played in the 2016 NCAA Tournament, facing at least one foe from that list in all but one weekend of the season. That includes 18 games against teams in last year’s Super Regionals and 15 against Women’s College World Series teams, as the Gamecocks face six of the eight who advanced to Oklahoma City last season.

Opening the year at home, the Garnet and Black bring in familiar foes for the Carolina Classic over Feb. 10-12,
including last year’s Big South Tournament champs Longwood as well as Mid-American Tournament finalist Ohio. The next weekend, the Gamecocks open their trip to the Lone Star State by facing the Texas Longhorns as part of the event in Austin. Two games each against Indiana and Louisiana Tech round out that weekend trip. The next week sees the Gamecocks travel to Chapel Hill to face North Carolina on Wed., Feb. 22 before hosting the Gamecock Invitational against the College of Charleston and North Dakota State, who captured the 2016 Summit League title.

The final event before Southeastern Conference play begins will be the best prep for that grind, as the Gamecocks fly to Fullerton, Calif., for the Judi Garman Classic. The three-day, five-game tourney pits the Gamecocks against four NCAA Touranment teams, including WCWS participant UCLA on Sunday.

The SEC slate, always tough, is made tougher by the appearance of four WCWS teams, five who made Super Regionals and seven who played in the NCAA Tournament. That includes trips to Tennessee (March 10-12), Alabama (March 24-26) and Georgia (April 28-30) and visits from Florida (March 17-19), Texas A&M (April 1-3), Auburn (April 21-23) and LSU (May 5-7). Only A&M was not a national seed in the 2016 tourney of that slate. The Gamecocks also face Mississippi State (April 7-9) in a road series, taking on a team that finished 39th in the final RPI from the NCAA and a program that has earned 11 NCAA Tournament bids, including four straight from 2012-15.

The non-conference schedule also includes visits to Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field for WCWS participant and the team that eliminated the Gamecocks from last year’s tourney, Florida State (April 14-15) and a host of in-state rivals, including defending Atlantic Sun Tourney champ USC Upstate (March 15).

Season tickets for Gamecock Softball’s 32 home games are $25 for adults and $10 for youth 17 and under. That includes general-admission tickets to every game of the home tournaments. More details on season tickets will be released on a future date.

2017 Gamecock Softball Schedule

DAY DATE OPPONENT LOCATION TIME/TV

Carolina Classic
Friday Feb. 10 Ohio Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 3 p.m.
Friday Feb. 10 Presbyterian Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 5:30 p.m.
Saturday Feb. 11 Longwood Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 3 p.m.
Sunday Feb. 12 Presbyterian Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 12:30 p.m.
Sunday Feb. 12 Charlotte Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 3 p.m.

Texas Tournament
Friday Feb. 17 Texas Austin, Texas 4 p.m./LHN
Friday Feb. 17 Indiana Austin, Texas 6:30 p.m./LHN
Saturday Feb. 18 Indiana Austin, Texas 1:30 p.m./LHN
Saturday Feb. 18 Louisiana Tech Austin, Texas 7 p.m./LHN
Sunday Feb. 19 Louisiana Tech Austin, Texas 12 p.m./LHN
Wednesday Feb. 22 North Carolina Chapel Hill, N.C. 3 p.m.

Gamecock Invitational
Friday Feb. 24 North Dakota State Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 3 p.m.
Saturday Feb. 25 North Dakota State Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 1:30 p.m.
Saturday Feb. 25 College of Charleston Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 4 p.m.
Sunday Feb. 26 College of Charleston Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 12:30 p.m.
Tuesday Feb. 28 Winthrop (DH) Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 3 p.m.

Judi Garman Classic
Friday March 4 Northwestern Fullerton, Calif. 8:30 p.m.
Saturday March 5 Arizona State Fullerton, Calif. 8:30 p.m.
Saturday March 5 Indiana Fullerton, Calif. 11 p.m.
Sunday March 6 UCLA Fullerton, Calif. 2:30 p.m.
Sunday March 6 Long Beach State Fullerton, Calif. 5 p.m.

Wednesday March 8 Virginia Tech Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 6 p.m.
Friday March 10 Tennessee* Knoxville, Tenn. TBD
Saturday March 11 Tennessee* Knoxville, Tenn. TBD
Sunday March 12 Tennessee* Knoxville, Tenn. TBD
Wednesday March 15 USC Upstate Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 6 p.m.
Friday March 17 Florida* Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 6 p.m.
Saturday March 18 Florida* Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 2 p.m.
Sunday March 19 Florida* Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 1 p.m.
Friday March 24 Alabama* Tuscaloosa, Ala. TBD
Saturday March 25 Alabama* Tuscaloosa, Ala. TBD
Sunday March 26 Alabama* Tuscaloosa, Ala. TBD
Tuesday March 28 Furman Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 6 p.m.
Saturday April 1 Texas A&M* Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 2 p.m.
Sunday April 2 Texas A&M* Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 7 p.m.
Monday April 3 Texas A&M* Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 7 p.m.
Wednesday April 5 Georgia Southern Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 6 p.m.
Friday April 7 Mississippi State* Mississippi State, Miss. TBD
Saturday April 8 Mississippi State* Mississippi State, Miss. TBD
Sunday April 9 Mississippi State* Mississippi State, Miss. TBD
Tuesday April 11 Coastal Carolina Conway, S.C. 5 p.m.
Thursday April 13 Mercer Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 5 p.m.
Friday April 14 Florida State Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 6 p.m.
Saturday April 15 Florida State Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 1 p.m.
Tuesday April 18 Charleston Southern (DH) Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 5 p.m.
Friday April 21 Auburn* Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 6 p.m.
Saturday April 22 Auburn* Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 2 p.m.
Sunday April 23 Auburn* Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 1 p.m.
Friday April 28 Georgia* Athens, Ga. TBD
Saturday April 29 Georgia* Athens, Ga. TBD
Sunday April 30 Georgia* Athens, Ga. TBD
Friday May 5 LSU* Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 6 p.m.
Saturday May 6 LSU* Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 2 p.m.
Sunday May 7 LSU* Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field 1 p.m.
Wed.-Sat. May 10-13 SEC Tournament Knoxville, Tenn. TBD
Fri.-Sun. May 19-21 NCAA Regionals Campus Sites TBD
Fri.-Sun. May 26-28 NCAA Super Regionals Campus Sites TBD
Thurs.-Wed. June 1-7 Women’s College World Series Oklahoma City, Okla. TBD
All times are Eastern
* Denotes Southeastern Conference game
Home games in bold
Subject to change
As of Oct. 26, 2016

Source- GamecocksOnline.com

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s